Home > Beer, Travel > Beers in Northern Europe

Beers in Northern Europe

December 1, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

In November, I spent a couple of weeks working in Europe (in the Netherlands, to be specific) and a few days visiting some friends in north-western Germany (Osnabruck area).  During my trip, I kept some short notes on my BlackBerry on some of the beers I tried.  Mostly for my own reference so next time I’m over there I can remember which beers to have again and which ones to avoid.  Some were good and others not-so-good.  In any case, thought I’d share my notes here, in no particular order.

Jupiler: This is a light lager from Belgium. It’s coined as the most popular beer in Belgium. Loved it.

Heineken: A classic light lager. Brewed in Holland. I enjoy a Heineken occasionally at home, but found this Euro version to be quite a bit smoother. Definitely better than back home.

Palm Speciale: One of my favourite Belgian beers. Nice amber coloured ale. Excellent.

Dobbel Palm: Similar to the one above but slightly darker and with a bit of a nuttier flavour. Slightly heavier than the Speciale. According to Wikipedia, the Dobbel is only sold in December to replace the Speciale. Guess I got an early edition.

Dommelsch: A very popular pilsner beer from the Netherlands. Good after a big meal, as it is quite light. Excellent.

Brand Pilsner: Good beer. Another light pilsner brewed in the Netherlands. Quite popular and easy to enjoy.

Brand Dubbelbock: Quite a dark ale that is labeled as an autumn seasonal beer. I found it far too nutty and too sweet. Not for my tastes.

La Chouffe: A Belgian “strong ale”. Had a burnt nutty flavour. Again, not for my tastes.

Becks: A popular pilsner from Bremen, Germany. A staple when in Germany and one of my personal favourites when over there. However, similar to Heineken, it tasted quite different over there than it does back home. There version being the better. A great beer.

Becks Gold: Same as the pilsner, but slightly darker. I would liken the difference to Kokanee vs Kokanee Gold. But again, another great beer.

  1. John Ryan Recabar
    December 3, 2009 at 7:33 am

    i love it here.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

