Home > Beer > Newcastle Brown Ale

Newcastle Brown Ale

January 11, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Newcastle Brown Ale

My sister, who spent last year living in Scotland, was recently in town for a visit over the holidays.  While we were out for drinks one night, she suggested I try Newcastle Brown Ale, which was being served on-tap at the local Elephant & Castle.  Always willing to try new beers, I gladly agreed.

I have to say, that after my first sip I was immediately surprised by how perfect this beer is.  And I admit, I am an ale drinker.  My default beer is Okanagan Springs Pale Ale, which is a fairly light ale, but an ale nonetheless; however, I often crave a medium-dark ale without having to visit a local Brew House to get one.  This beer was exactly what I was looking for.  I’m embarrassed to admit that I’d never tried it before.

According to Wikipedia, it’s brewed by a company called Scottish & Newcastle, which is part of Heineken International.  Read up on some of the beers history HERE.

The beer was excellent and had a slightly nutty taste, which is common to darker ales.  But it wasn’t too dark (for my taste) and had a smooth aftertaste.  The aftertaste also wasn’t too sweet, which I find common in a lot of European ales.  Definitely worth a try next time you’re staring at the wall of import beer at the liquor store and can’t decide what to buy.

Rating: 4 / 5

  1. Tony
    January 13, 2010 at 6:32 am

    Haha; Newcastle Brown is what we give to the tourists. We keep the good stuff for ourselves! 😉

    • Rob
      January 18, 2010 at 8:10 pm

      Bring some of the good stuff over here and we’ll share a couple pints. Once you come out west here, I’ll show you what Canadian beer is too.

  2. Andrea
    January 12, 2010 at 8:20 pm

    We should go on a world beer/ale tour one of these years…Or at least a European tour 🙂 The hunt for the best Europe has to offer in beers and ales! 🙂

    • Rob
      January 18, 2010 at 8:11 pm

      There’s actually a great place in Ottawa in the market where they have dozens of beers from all over the world on tap. Ask Michael where it is. They have a bunch of different flights of beer too so you can try 5 or 6 at a time. Pretty awesome. We’ll have to go there when I finally get out there for a visit.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

